Next Event: Friday Nov. 8 7:30 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.

ASU Symphony Orchestra: Schoenberg’s New World

Join us for concert featuring a dynamic collection of works written or revised in post-World War II United States. The first half of the concert presents works by Schoenberg and Korngold, both Austro-Hungarian Jewish refugees working in the United States after fleeing Europe in the 1930s. The concert concludes with Copland’s monumental Symphony No. 3, a work that some have called the “Great American Symphony,” expressing the spirit of a hopeful nation emerging from a generation of war.

ASU Professor Sabine Feisst, a world-renowned expert on Schoenberg, will offer a pre-concert talk revealing the historical and biographical context of these works. Her most recent book, Schoenberg’s Correspondence with American Composers, was published by Oxford University Press in 2018.

ASU Symphony Orchestra
Jeffery Meyer, Conductor
Michelle Di Russo, Conductor
Jennifer Son, Cello (2019 ASU Concerto Competition Winner)


Schoenberg: Five Pieces |
Korngold: Cello Concerto 
Jennifer Son, Cello 
Copland: Symphony No. 3

General admission tickets are $12 at the box office; fees apply for online advanced purchase.  Free student tickets are available by contacting the ASU Gammage box office (480-965-3434).

Stock photo of a violin performer

ASU Gammage

Event Map: 
Tickets: $12, free student tickets available, see description

For More Information Contact:

ASU Gammage