Next Event: Thursday April 2 7:30 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.

ASU Symphony Orchestra: Weber, Liszt and Shostakovich Symphony No. 5

Virtuosic romantic works by Weber and Liszt provide the first-half counterpoint to Shostakovich’s searing Symphony No. 5, written at the height of the Stalinist purges of the 1930s. Ever since its storied premiere in St. Petersburg in 1937, it continues to be performed and remembered among the most moving and dramatic works of its time.

Arizona State University Symphony Orchestra
Jeffery Meyer, Michelle Di Russo and Francisco Hernández Bolaños, conductors
Aoshuang Li, piano (2019 ASU Concerto Competition Winner)


Weber: Overture to Der Freischütz 
Liszt: Piano Concerto No. 1
Aoshuang Li, piano 
Dmitry Shostakovich: Symphony No.5

This event was moved from Tempe Center for the Arts to ASU Gammage.

Photo of an ASU Orchestra performance

ASU Gammage

Event Map: 
Tickets: TBA

For More Information Contact:

ASU Gammage