Exploring Jupiter’s Moon Europa: A Potentially Habitable World

This event last occurred Feb. 4, 2021

Learn about NASA’s Europa mission from its project scientist and ASU alumnus, Dr. Robert Pappalardo. The live webinar will feature Pappalardo’s account of the Europa Clipper mission’s investigations for whether the icy moon could harbor conditions suitable for life.   

Date and time:
Thurs, Feb. 4
5 p.m. PT / 6 p.m. MT / 8 p.m. ET
Run time: 1 hour

Presenting: Dr. Robert Pappalardo

Robert Pappalardo is a senior research scientist at Jet Propulsion Laboratory. Pappalardo's research focuses on processes that have shaped the icy satellites of the outer solar system, especially Europa and the role of its probable subsurface ocean. Europa research includes the possibility that solid-state convection has played an important role in the satellite's history, investigation of regions of separation and spreading of the satellite's icy lithosphere, and implications of the surface geology for lithospheric properties and the existence of a liquid water ocean beneath the icy surface.  

Moderator: Everett Shock
ASU Professor 
School of Earth and Space Exploration
School of Molecular Sciences
School of Life Sciences 

illustration of planet

Online

For More Information Contact:

Taryn Struck
Interplanetary Initiative
taryn.struck@asu.edu
https://interplanetary.asu.edu