Last Event: Thursday April 15 6 p.m. - 7:30 p.m.

TomorrowTalks with Ayanna Thompson: Blackface (Object Lessons)

Arizona State University presents scholar, activist and "Othello-whisperer" Ayanna Thompson as a guest in its TomorrowTalks series. Thompson will discuss her book, "Blackface (Object Lessons)" in an online event on Thursday, April 15 at 6 p.m. Arizona time* (6 p.m. PDT / 7 p.m. MDT / 8 p.m. CDT / 9 p.m. EDT). The conversation with Thompson will be facilitated by ASU's Lisa Anderson, an associate professor of women and gender studies and deputy director in the School of Social Transformation.

Cover of Blackface by Ayanna Thompson courtesy Macmillan PublishersIn "Blackface," Thompson explains what blackface is, why it occurred, and what its legacies are in the 21st century. Why are there so many examples of public figures, entertainers and normal, everyday people in blackface? And why aren't there as many examples of people of color in whiteface? There is a filthy and vile thread—sometimes it's tied into a noose—that connects the first performances of Blackness on English stages, the birth of blackface minstrelsy, contemporary performances of Blackness and anti-Black racism. "Blackface" examines that history and provides hope for a future with new performance paradigms.

Ayanna Thompson is a scholar of Shakespeare, race and performance and is author or editor of several books on the subject, including, "Passing Strange: Shakespeare, Race and Contemporary America" and "The Cambridge Companion to Shakespeare and Race." She is Regents Professor of English at Arizona State University where she directs the Arizona Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies and created RaceB4Race. She was recently named a trustee of the Royal Shakespeare Company.

TomorrowTalks place thought leaders of today in conversation with the changemakers of tomorrow: our students. Each distinguished speaker will explain how they use writing to address our most pressing challenges. In addition to Gates, spring 2021 speakers included Michael Eric Dyson (Feb. 25) and Melinda Gates (Mar. 18).

TomorrowTalks are a student-engagement initiative led by the Division of Humanities in The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at ASU and hosted by ASU's Department of EnglishSchool of Social Transformation and Arizona Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies, in partnership with Macmillan Publishers. Additional assistance is provided by ASU's School of Civic and Economic Thought and Leadership and the Center for the Study of Race and Democracy.

*For this event, Arizona is the same as Pacific Daylight Time. Read why Arizona opts-out of daylight saving time.

ASU Regents Professor Ayanna Thompson / Courtesy photo

Online

For More Information Contact:

Kyle Jensen
Writing Programs, Department of English
dr.kjensen@asu.edu
https://english.asu.edu/tomorrowtalks